Setting Up Bill Data
Billing Centers use costs from Bill Data to enable an accurate view of costs across accounts and services. Supported Clouds include AWS, Azure, and GCP. To connect your Bill Data to RightScale, follow the instructions here.
Additionally, since Bill Data is utilized, any tags configured in the Billing Center Allocation Rules must be native cloud tags (not RightScale tags) and must be present in the cloud bill. When using tag-based allocation, some vendor require additional configuration:
- AWS - Configure User-Defined Allocation Tags
- Azure - No additional configuration is required. All tags exist in data sources.
- GCE - Tag-based allocation is currently not supported.
Costs displayed in Billing Centers are affected by any Markups and Markdowns.
Managing Billing Centers
View existing Billing Centers
All configured Billing Centers can be seen from the Billing view of Cloud Analytics. From here, users can select an existing Billing Center to review cost data or setup alerts & reports. By default, the current month is shown starting on the 3rd of the month (on the 1st/2nd we show prior month). You can change the month using the month switcher in the filter bar.
Create a new Billing Center
Users with the appropriate access can create new billing centers by first clicking on the New Billing Center button from the home page and following the steps in the wizard. Users can create any number of Billing Centers within each organization.
Enter a Billing Center Title and optionally add a Billing Center description.
Cloud Accounts and Tags can be configured for any specific Billing Center via Allocation Rules
RightScale supports 2 dedicated roles to view and manage billing centers.
billing_center_admin: This role gives full access to View/Add/Edit/Delete Billing Centers including managing granular user permissions. This role can only be granted at the organization level and gets access to all billing centers within the organization.
billing_center_viewer: This role gives view only access to based on whether it's granted at the organization level or individual billing centers level. If granted at the organization, users will have view only access to billing centers within it. Otherwise, the access is limited to the billing center they are part of. This role does not provide full access to rest of the Optima.
Users with the
enterprise_manager role have full access on all billing centers and can grant organizational level billing center roles to users and/or groups from RightScale Governance.
The users must belong to the organization before they can be added to the billing centers. If not, enterprise managers must first invite the users, to the organization, before granting them access to the billing centers.
Within the Billing Center UI users with the
billing_center_admin role will see a dedicated Users tab where they can view all users who have access to the Billing Center including inherited roles from the organization.
To add users with
billing_center_viewer role to a billing center, follow these simple steps:
Open the billing center and click on the Users tab. Click Add Users button to start the process.
Users can use the type-ahead feature to quickly find and select users and/or RightScale groups.
Click Save to commit changes.
Users with the the
billing_center_admin role can also remove existing users by following the steps below:
Open the billing center and click on the Users tab.
Select the desired users to be removed and click Remove Selected.
Confirm the action by clicking Remove.
Inherited roles can only be removed by enterprise managers from RightScale Governance.
Governance users will see a new message to indicate that users can have granular permissions on billing centers.
Edit a Billing Center
A Billing Center's name and description can be edited by navigating to the Billing Center.
Delete a Billing Center
Users with the appropriate access can click on the Delete ... button in the top-right corner of the Billing Center screen.
Users are presented with a confirmation screen before the Billing Center is deleted. Once a Billing Center has been deleted, allocated costs that are not picked up by any of the remaining Allocation Rules are reallocated to the Unallocated Billing Center.
Scheduled Reports and Budget Alerts
Allocation Rules are a prioritized list that costs are matched against, and then properly allocated to a corresponding Billing Center. Each Allocation Rule specifies a tag (key=value) or Cloud Account number(s), and a target Billing Center. Allocation Rules exist at the RightScale Organization level and are applied to all Billing Centers within the Organization. Multiple Allocation Rules can be applied to the same Billing Center.
Allocation Rules are applied in ascending numerical order. It is possible that a single cost could match multiple rules (ie. a Server that matches a Cloud Account Rule and a Cloud Tag Rule); in these cases, the first processed rule (lower numbered) will take priority.
Creating Allocation Rules
Allocation Rules can be created by selecting the Allocation Rules header in Billing Centers and clicking Create New Rule.
Cloud Tag Rules
When creating a new Cloud Tag Rule, users will be presented with a Rule Definition string textbox to provide a tag key-value pair. Any number of
* can be used as a wildcard value in either of the tag fields. For example:
env=Prod*. After defining the tag rule, supply a Billing Center from the dropdown list to which costs should be allocated.
Cloud Account Rules
When creating a new Cloud Account Rule, users will be presented with a Choose Cloud Accounts button to specify which Cloud Accounts to include in the new Allocation Rule. After selecting the Cloud Account(s), select a Billing Center from the dropdown list to which costs should be allocated.
Editing Allocation Rules
An Allocation Rule can be edited by clicking the pencil icon next to the target rule. A pop-up window will present the same fields that were set when the rule was created. Edit the Rule Definition (Cloud Tag or Cloud Accounts) and/or the associated Billing Center and click Update Rule.
When Allocation Rules are updated, ALL historical costs are re-allocated based on the new Allocation Rules. This process may take several minutes to finish and display correctly on the dashboard.
Deleting Allocation Rules
An Allocation Rule can be deleted by clicking the trash can icon next to the target rule. A pop-up window will ask for confirmation prior to deletion.